Symposium: Frontiers of Glass Science

Scope of the Symposium:
All submissions and accepted talks should address open, relevant problems in the frontiers of glass science. The invited speakers will be instructed to critically review and analyze the state-of-art and to point out to open, relevant problems in their respective fields

Abstracts on the following subjects may be submitted:

  • Glass structure
    • Short, intermediate and medium range order in glasses and their relationships to dynamic processes or properties
  • Dynamic processes
    • Viscous flow, relaxation, liquid-liquid phase separation, crystal nucleation and growth, overall crystallization, glass-forming ability
  • Properties
    • Mechanical, thermal, electrical, optical, chemical, etc.

Symposium Organizers:

  • Chairman: Edgar Dutra Zanotto
    • E-mail:
  • Co-chair: Morten M. Smedskjaer
    • E-mail:

List of Invited Speakers:

  • Hellmut Eckert - Glass struture/ NMR
  • Daniel Neuville - Glass structure/ X-ray methods
  • Walter Kob - MD simulations
  • Mathieu Micolaut - MD simulations
  • Guillaume Ferlat - MD simulations
  • Guido Ori - MD simulations
  • José Pedro Rino - MD simulations of crystallization
  • Vladimir Fokin - Glass crystallization
  • Edgar D. Zanotto - Glass crystallization
  • Ashwini Ghosh - Electrical properties
  • Ana C.M. Rodrigues - Electrical properties of glass
  • Morten Smedskjaer - Mechanical properties of glass
  • Satoshi Yoshida - Mechanical properties
  • Francisco Sebena - Mechanical properties of glass-ceramics
  • Jianrong Qiu - Optical glass-ceramics
  • Jong Heo - Quantum dots in glasses
  • Andrea de Camargo - Photonic properties
  • Julien Lumeau - PTR glasses
  • Julian Jones - Bioactive glasses
  • John McCloy - Natural glasses
  • Ashutosh Goel - Nuclear waste glasses
  • Ralf Müller - glass sintering with concurrent crystallization

Scientific Committee:
  • Hellmut Eckert, São Carlos, Brazil
  • Prabhat K. Gupta, Columbus, USA
  • Walter Kob, Montpellier, France
  • Jianrong Qiu, Hangzhou, China
  • Mattieu Micolaut, Paris, France
  • Daniel Neuville, Paris, France
  • Juern Schmelzer, Rostok, Germany
  • Vladimir M. Fokin, St. Petersburg, Russian Federation
  • Aswini Ghosh, India
  • Liping Huang, Troy, USA
  • Martin Wilding, London, UK
  • Francisco Serbena, Ponta Grossa, Brazil
  • Jong Heo, Korea
Copyright © 2017 Metallum. All rights reserved.
Site produced by: SITESP.NET