Symposium: Fundamentals of Sintering and Advanced Sintering Processes

Scope of the Symposium:
This symposium covers fundamental aspects of sintering and related phenomena, such as grain growth, as well as recent advances in sintering processes. Both simulations (modelling) and experimental contributions are welcome, ranging from the atomistic perspective to a mesoscale description of sintering.

Abstracts on the following subjects may be submitted:

  • Science and technology of conventional pressureless sintering
  • Field- and pressure-assisted processes
  • Science and technology of cold sintering
  • Grain growth processes and modeling
  • Sintering of porous materials
  • Sintering and additive manufacturing
  • Thermodynamics of sintering
  • Control of ceramic properties via sintering and grain growth

Symposium Organizers:

  • Chairman: Ricardo Castro
    • University of California - Davis, USA
    • E-mail:
  • Co-chair: Douglas Gouvea
    • University of São Paulo, Brazil
    • E-mail:
  • Co-chair: Gary Messing
    • Penn State University, USA
    • E-mail:

Tentative list of invited speakers:

  • Fadi Abdeljawad, Sandia National Lab, USA
  • Suk-Joong L. Kang, KAIST, South Korea
  • Feng Liu, Northwestern Polytechnic University, China
  • Rajendra Kumar Bordia, Clemson University, USA
  • Martha Mecartney, University of California, Irvine, USA
  • Veena Tikare, Sandia National Lab, USA
  • Robert O'Brien, Idaho National Lab, USA
  • Wolfgang Rheinheimer, KIT, Germany
  • Christophe Martin, SIMAP, Grenoble, France
  • Ivar Reimanis, Colorado School of Mines, USA

Scientific Committee:

  • Dachamir Hotza, Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina
  • Wilson Acchar, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Norte
  • Javier Garay, University of California-San Diego
  • Martha Mecartney, University of California-Irvine
  • Olivia Graeve, University of California-San Diego
  • Tatsuki Ohji (AIST, Japan)      
  • Jingzhe Pan  (University of Leicester, U.K.)   
  • Tadeusz Pieczonka (Akademia Górniczo-Hutnicza, Poland)
  • Albert Carneiro (Centro Atómico Bariloche, Argentina)
  • Jan Räthel (Fraunhofer IKTS, Germany)
  • Tobias Vossmeyer (Universitat Hamburg)
  • Graham Schaffer (University of Melbourne, Australia)
  • Torsten Staab  (University of Würzburg, Germany)
  • Ender Suvaci  (Anadolu University, Turkey)
  • Veena Tikare  (Sandia National Laboratories, USA)
  • José Torralba (Universidad de Navarra, Spain)
  • Wei-Hsing Tuan (National Taiwan University, Taiwan)
  • Francois Valdivieso (École des Mines de St.-Étienne, France)
  • Fumihiro Wakai (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)
  • Thomas Weißgärber  (Fraunhofer IFAM, Germany)
  • Roberto Orru (University of Cagliari, Italy)
  • Joanna Groza (University of California, Davis)
  • Klaus van Benthem (University of California, Davis)
  • Gilberto Pereira (FEI)
Copyright ©
Warning: date(): It is not safe to rely on the system's timezone settings. You are *required* to use the date.timezone setting or the date_default_timezone_set() function. In case you used any of those methods and you are still getting this warning, you most likely misspelled the timezone identifier. We selected the timezone 'UTC' for now, but please set date.timezone to select your timezone. in /home/storage/2/fe/74/metallum1/public_html/icc7/inc/direitos.php on line 4
2018 Metallum. All rights reserved.
Site produced by: SITESP.NET